Not exactly a plea for votes, but…

I’m not going to ask you for votes today.  Well, not at first anyway.  First I’m going to relate to you instead … and thank you for even taking the time to read this post!

See, I know how busy you are.  I know because I myself have run around all summer like a chicken with its head cut off (sorry for the mental picture).  Really, I myself have been so insanely busy this summer that it’s been hard to even think straight.  And I’ve learned that sometimes, the busier you are, the more things get done … and sometimes, the busier you are, NOTHING gets done.

I’m learning that the key is prioritizing … but how do you prioritize when you want to do it all?  If you’re like me, you get excited about everything.  And in your excitement, you try to do it all … but only half of it can truly be accomplished before you move on to the next thing you have scheduled.  An as a result, nothing gets done.

So, back to how to prioritize.  Now, let me preface this post by disclosing that I am in absolutely no position to give advice on organization.  (Just ask my mother.)  But here’s what I’m learning: maybe, when we realize that we have too much on our plates, instead of trying to consume it all at once we should pick out the things that will make the greatest impact on others and do those first.

I think that we will all feel more fulfilled if we make others’ needs a priority – even if we didn’t get everything on our list done.  As long as we take care of others, it won’t matter (as much) that we didn’t “do it all.”  I believe in karma, and my dad always taught me that “everything comes full circle.”  He’s right.

You are probably crazy busy.  Maybe you’re not.  Maybe you are crazy busy but are also a master at organizing your life (in which case this post doesn’t relate to you at all, so thank you for still reading!).  In any case, if the livelihoods of children in Africa are something you consider to be important to you, please add ONE MINUTE to the top of your to-do list and vote for EOR in the Classy Awards.  Just click here and vote for EOR in the “Most Innovative Use of Social Media Category.”  It just takes a second.

And if you can’t find the time, I totally understand.  No hard feelings whatsoever. I feel your pain — I’ve not had a chance to do half the things I wanted to do this summer.  Really.  I’ll admit to you frankly that I have not always put others first.  I’ve not been organized.  I haven’t seen many people I love in so long, I probably have no friends left.

But that’s how I’m learning to get myself organized.  I think it’s working.  And even if it doesn’t, at least I will try and make sure that the people that need my help the most will get it … if nothing else.

Alex

One thought on “Not exactly a plea for votes, but…

Leave a comment