Running for EOR

I’ll never forget it. The kids and I woke up early in the morning to watch the women’s marathon at the London Olympics. We watched with glee as an Ethiopian runner, Tiki Gelana slowly separated herself from the pack. We cheered and screamed as the finish line drew near, as she nervously kept glancing over her shoulder, a look of pain and determination on her face. We went absolutely bonkers as she crossed the finish line in first place.

Tiki Gelana

 
In a time when bad news is often the only news, the dazzling success of Ethiopian running is a wonderfully positive and powerful image. To me, it perfectly represents the spirit, determination, and heart of the Ethiopian people. I love that my children can watch track and field events with me and perhaps see themselves in each inspiring athlete’s performance.

In the past few years I’ve taken up running as a hobby. It is my social time, my quiet time…simply time to myself, which is awfuyl hard to come by these days. After a failed attempt due to injury in 2011, I was incredibly proud (and relieved!) to complete my first marathon in 2012. I had such a blast I’ve decided to do it again, but this time not for myself, but for EOR. I am running the Chicago Marathon on October 13th, 2013, and I hope to raise some money for the children of FOVC (Friends of Orphans and Vulnerable Children). FOVC recently informed EOR that they are in desperate need of basic medical supplies. They need those items we can usually get with a quick trip to the local pharmacy or supermarket: Tylenol, Ibuprofen, Augmentin, Amoxicillin, first aid supplies, sterile water, gauze, de-worming medications. I hope that you might feel compelled to pledge even just $1 per mile (the race is 26.2 miles) to help raise funds so the children of FOVC can receive the basic medical supplies they so desperately need.
 
I will continue to post over the next few months to let you know how my training is going. So far, my longest run was 18 miles and it was HARD! Hard, but completely worth every sore muscle the next day, because I am hopeful that my participation in the Chicago Marathon will serve a greater purpose. With every sore muscle and every Saturday morning away from my kids I know that some other pretty amazing Ethiopian kids will benefit and receive the medical supplies we often take for granted.
 
Please join me in the journey! Consider pledging and helping me reach this goal! On my next post, I will have a link to where you can go to sign up and pledge. YOU can make a big difference in the lives of the children at FOVC!! See you in Chicago!

 

Ali

Leave a Reply

