Raindrops

Boo Hoo.

Bummer.  I must say the the weather here in Oregon is occasionally overwhelming.  It has been an exceptionally wet spring and early summer… or is it Mid summer now… We have  an annual rainfall of  about 40 inches, but  many cities do.  These 40 inches are spread out over many more days than say New Jersey (where I grew up).  A gentle light mist of rain for 30-50 days in a row can be  very common in the winter months.   However,  today is July 17th and IT IS POURING!!!!   Geez,  great I don’t have to water my amazingly productive garden today.  I guess that is the bonus.

Sadly, while making a delicious dinner last night I heard a story about the water crisis in the Horn of Africa.  “Water Crisis”.   Hmmm.  Guess I should suck it up and deal with the water falling from my sky while my endless supply of clean water rolls down the drain as I ask my 4 year olds to turn off the faucet while  they brush their teeth.

Here is a excerpt from the PBS story I listened to on NPR yesterday.

AFRICA’S GROWING WATER CRISIS
A series of multimedia reports show how water stress across the horn of Africa is fueling conflict and threatening ancient ways of life.
A Dwindling Existence for Africa’s Pastoralists
By Ernest Waititu

“Annual rainfall is falling and even springs are drying out,” says Hassan, who is the tribal head of the Gare, a clan of some 475,000 people spread across Ethiopia, Kenya and Somalia. Their only option is to dig deeper to find water, sometimes to 100 feet or more below the dusty surface. Traditional wells, some of them dug 300 to 400 years ago, are disappearing at alarming rates. In one village in just a few years, nine wells have been covered by sand erosion, and the village has no means of reclaiming them.
Hassan admits that people, livestock and deforestation have added to the water shortages, but he and other local leaders have no answers for the rising temperatures experienced in recent years.

“Last year it rained for only two days,” says local area chief Ibrahim Ganamo, lifting two fingers in the air and shaking his head. Statistics are hard to come by, but Ganamo says that, last year, people lost 80 percent of their livestock.

EOR cares about water projects.  Paige Chapman-Layland is always asking me about our next “Water Project” …

I guess it is time to figure this out.   Thanks in advance to all of our pending donors who will jump on board to fund another sustainable “Water Project”. Lets get focused!!!!!!

Lauren

2 thoughts on “Raindrops

  1. I have been thinking about this so much lately. I’m glad EOR is going to start a new water project – I need to do something to help with this situation. It’s like hearing there is a crisis in your hometown, you just have to help.

Leave a Reply

