Top 10

I think of Ethiopia all the time and start to miss it. For people who have never been there that might seem odd. So I thought I’d make a top 10 list of what I miss most about Ethiopia.

10) The food
9) Shopping
8)The dancing
7) Waking up to the sound of chanting
6) Coffee ceremonies
5) The donkeys (really I loved them)
4) The kids in the country smiling and laughing when they saw us and yelling Ferenji.
3) The rolling hills in the countryside
2) Friends (including men) walking down the street holding hands
1) Being where my son began his life

For those of you that have been there, what do you miss most?  Ethiopia is an amazing place and I can’t wait for the day when I can go back.

5 thoughts on “Top 10

  1. I miss the smell of Ethiopia, which sounds so strange. I didn’t expect Ethiopia to smell so good, but the cook fires and roasting spices mingled with the smell of earth left an indelible mark. One of the netalas we brought home has a lingering Ethiopia scent. I keep it handy for when I am ‘homesick’ for the country I love.

  2. the sounds, the rooster crowing, the children playing outside across from where we stayed, the simplicity, the mop man yelling oe-ya (something like that) the soft voices of the Ethipian people, the smells, everything!

  3. the language. hands down. i could listen to amharic all day. i really really want to learn it. i think i could if i got to spend enough time in country. also, food. i could eat habesha every day.

  4. I love and would agree with the list of ten things and all of your comments!!!! There are so many things to love and miss about Ethiopia! We had the opportunity to buy fabric at the merkato and design our own traditional dresses! It was amazing to see the entire process! Experiencing Ethiopia everyday was a gift!

Leave a Reply

