Honoring Mom’s

Last year I nearly boycotted Mother’s Day.  The thought of not having our child or even a referral was unbearable.  I was a bad daughter and sister.  I didn’t send cards or flowers and I’m not even sure if I called.  I received a book, Mommy and Me, from one of my beloved sister in laws.  Even though it looked cute as can be I couldn’t read it.  My husband had gotten me a card and flowers.  It was a little more then I could handle.  I really just wanted to pretend the day didn’t exist.

This year is much different.  I keep joking around with my husband that he better be planning something great.  The truth is I already got what I wanted most.  Some little token will be fine.  I’ve actually been debating about getting a tattoo (thanks to Evolved for donating a gift card to Dead of Winter) of my sons given Ethiopian name to commemorate the day.

And even though this year I will have my son home I am still finding it to be an emotional time.  I didn’t give him life and I didn’t love him first.  On the other side of the world there is an amazing woman who gave me the greatest gift (gift isn’t the right word but I don’t know what is) I could ever ask for.

I am trying to figure out a way to celebrate her on Birthmother’s Day.  Did you know there was such a thing?  I had never heard of it until about two years ago. “Birthmother’s Day is celebrated the Saturday before Mother’s Day.  It originated in 1990 by a group of birthmothers in Seattle, Washington.  Most birthmothers will agree that Mother’s Day is a very painful holiday and these women wanted to create something that would honor their birthmotherhood” (from http://www.birthmombuds.com/bmomsday.htm).

It’s hard to know how to honor her when she is so far away. I will make sure that we talk about her that day and throughout the years to come. I’ll make a donation to EOR in her honor.  I will probably write her a letter and hope that one day I can give it to her.  Unlike many parents of internationally adopted children we were lucky enough to meet Tesfa’s birth mother.  I know that she is a loving and compassionate person.  She deserves to be honored (as all mother’s do).

Amy

One thought on “Honoring Mom’s

Leave a Reply

