The Hard Part

Waiting is the Hardest Part

The time we spent waiting for our son was so hard.  At the time I couldn’t imagine anything more difficult.  Now that he is home and we are settling in as a family the hard part really begins.  Adoption is complicated and while I thought I had a really good grasp on the intricacies of it I have a lot of work to do.

I recently finished the book Beyond Good Intentions by Cheri Register. It helped me understand some of the questions and issues that my son will face. Someday he may be confused about his connection to Ethiopia.  He may decide that he doesn’t want to eat Ethiopian food or listen to Ethiopian music because he doesn’t feel Ethiopian. And while we need to respect him that shouldn’t change the fact that my husband and I still have a connection to and love for Ethiopia.

I feel as though my small contributions to EOR are a good way for him to see the admiration I have for the country he was born in.

.

Amy

Leave a Reply

