Update the 2nd: Water 1st

I admit it.  Tonight, as the dishwasher was humming, the washing machine was spinning, and my tween was fresh from his second shower of the day, I was peeved.  My 4 year old needed a bath, and I had to wait for the water heater to replenish the hot water supply.  It was late, getting later by the second, and for the third time this week, I began to price larger water heaters.

I can’t imagine how many Ethiopian women would like to deal with my water troubles.  In a country where less than 11% of the rural population has access to safe drinking water, and water and sanitation-related diseases, particularly diarrhea, are among the top three causes of death, I’m sure any woman who travels miles each day carrying filthy water would welcome my life, and the water (often hot!) that flows freely from our taps.

 

That’s why I’m particularly glad that Ethiopian Orphan Relief, Inc. partnered with Water 1st to provide safe drinking water, and sanitary latrines for the people of Kelecho Gerbi.  Last spring, we asked for your help, and you gave…generously!  By the end of May, EOR was able to donate $10,000.00 to Water 1st–enough to fund 8 community taps and 50 latrines, aka a lifetime of clean water, for the entire village of Kelecho Gerbi.

With funding secure, Water 1st was able to plan a water tour for early in the spring of 2011.  Once our portion of the project is complete, we’ll share pictures and perhaps video of the build.

 

Thank you, thank you to those of you who remember that clean water is vital to the people of Ethiopia.  With good sanitation and a ready source of fresh water, people stay healthier, girls go to school, and Ethiopians prosper.  From now on, when I am tempted to google  ‘endless supply of hot water’ I’ll be sure to add to my water donation instead.

Paige

One thought on “Update the 2nd: Water 1st

  1. I have a hard time thinking even 11% of people here have access to clean water here. \The water in the city is not clean and if you drive out at all you see people getting water anyway possible from puddles or dirty rivers. We have a dirty river that runs behind this school and we see people having to use the restroom there and wash their clothes there. I did not realize how challening it could be to have safe water. Thank you for posting this. Our house worker takes water from the treated tank here on our compound so her boys can occassionaly drink pure water or at least better water. One sip as we have found out is enough to cause parasites or bacteria growth. Keep up the great work EOR.

Leave a Reply

