We can do no great things, only small things with great love. Mother Teresa

I have a challenge for you all this week.  We are trying to fund raise for our water project and I am reminded of my read-a-thon fundraiser in elementary school.  We all remember how this goes.  You banged on your neighbors’ doors demanding money and they pledged a certain amount per book read and at the end of the month, you collected the funds and went on your merry way.

So I am not a huge fan of banging on neighbors’ doors anymore.  (Let’s be honest, the guy who does all his landscaping after dark MIGHT be a serial killer and freaks me out a tad.)  So I am asking all my blogging friends to participate in a water-a-thon.  Here is how it will work.  Starting tomorrow, Wednesday, April 28th and ending Sunday, May 2nd, I am asking you to pledge.  Pledge an amount per time that you turn on your faucet.  I am not asking for huge amounts for your pledge, but if you want to be like my awesome childhood neighbor who pledged 50-cents/ book, I would be ecstatic.

The point of this is two-fold.  One, we will hopefully raise money for an awesome cause.  Two, we will appreciate the clean, safe water that comes out of our taps 24 hours a day at our beck and call.  Too often, we take this basic, yet vital, luxury for granted.  Let’s turn on those taps, donate to a great cause, and help those who do not have access to safe water.

DONATE NOW

Katie

*We received 65.00 toward our 2200.00 goal in the last 24 hours.  We have a long way to go by May 2nd (to give time for the water-a-thon to end) but WE can do it!


One thought on “We can do no great things, only small things with great love. Mother Teresa

  1. Katie

    This is SUCH a good idea. It’s noon and I’ve already turned on a tap, flushed a toilet or turned on the washer 18 times since I woke. I can’t imagine my life without access to clean water. I can’t wait to see how much I owe by May 2nd–it’ll seem like a pittance compared to the value of clean, free-flowing water when I want it.

Leave a Reply

