I am what I am! That’s a great thing to be! If I say so myself, HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME!

Nothing like a reading (or 12) of  Happy birthday to YOU! by Dr. Seuss and the best wishes of a frillion friends to make a gal feel adored.

Last year was a milestone birthday for me–a few weeks before it, a college friend celebrated her birthday by asking for donations to  ‘Doctors without Borders” on facebook.   It was such a good idea, and the first I had ever seen it, so I quickly made the same commitment to raising funds for EOR.    I made  a goal, and really, facebook did the rest.

This year, as the facebook reminders landed in my inbox, I largely ignored them.  Asking for money is hard, and feel like I ask      all.  the.  time.  Still, the idea of not asking nagged at me.  And so,  2 days rather than 2 weeks before the big event, I threw caution to the wind and made the commitment once more.  And,  just like last year, the gifts poured in.

It’s so amazing to know that we on the board of Ethiopian Orphan Relief, Inc. have the love and support of our friends and relatives.  The commitment we’ve made to provide healthy food,  clean water,  and a safe place to call home for scores of Ethiopian orphans is so much easier to achieve with the help of so many.

It’s funny, but every gift in my name reminds me that the donor really gets me, really knows the true me as well as anyone who made a mix tape or bought me a Billy Idol shirt for my birthday (a Billy Idol shirt?  Who, me?)
Thank you to each and every one of you for your commitment to the children of Ethiopia.  You all make gliding into my 42 nd year on earth seem easy peasy.

Billy thinks you should try it too...

Amesegallo,

Paige

Leave a Reply

