Babies Everywhere

Yesterday I got an email from my friend saying she was in the hospital, 8cm dilated, and was going to have to start pushing in half an hour.  I replied “well put down your blackberry and start pushing girl!”  I then logged onto Facebook and saw pictures of my friend in Ethiopia with her two babies.  The moment was powerful – at the same time one friend was giving birth, and another was picking up her children.

I know that a lot of women who are in the adoption world find themselves there because of issues with infertility, and I don’t mean to diminish those issues or the feelings that go along with them.  For me, however, this was not my experience.  It was never important to me to be pregnant or give birth.  I wanted a family, and I wanted to give a home to a child who otherwise did not have one.

So however your children come into this world – I celebrate you.  Your life will change drastically, but you won’t even remember what it was like before.   Here’s to babies (of all ages, colors, and kinds) everywhere!

Ronin Tabano, age 30 minutes

Shawn

One thought on “Babies Everywhere

  1. Thank you for your thoughtful words. I too have never felt the need for me to be pregnant or give birth! I applaud you for saying so, I get a lot of strange looks and comments for saying so. I like knowing that I’m not the only one. I know that I am just as maternal as the next lady even though my son came from another woman. We are all moms and we all love the same!

Leave a Reply

